Carpe-ing the f*cking diem

What to do when carpe-ing the diem seems so exhausting that keeps you from planing your future? Whenever I get to meet people from my past, specially medical school former classmates, I feel like I have been missing something very important the whole way between graduation and today. Few years ago I used this excuse when facing this drama: I am enjoying life and planning a career as they’re just wasting their lives working over 70 hours a week! Now I’ve got the feeling they got their careers and I got stuck in a miserable life. Not miserable, I’ve done and seem amazing things, no regrets at all, but looking back I realize I should have chosen my priorities more carefully, spend my energies on projects that would not only evolve pleasure, but greatness.

The greatest thing I’ll ever learn is probably that we can’t get enough from life until we realize that not all our dreams will come true don’t matter how hard we try or how long our lives last. I used to feel so scared I’d die before doing some stuff I judged been so important in one’s life, like raising a kid, learning French or helping african countries to fight poverty. Today I know it’s not possible and my dilemma just changed, and what the hell is possible? Is it possible to be happy today while planning the perfect future? The answer is a big fat yes. I can’t live in the past, and the future can’t keep me from being happy today. Is it right? I wanna join a medical residency program but don’t want it to drain all my time and energy. Maybe that’s why it took me so long to decide which program I like the most, psychiatry, gynaecology, pediatrics, surgery, radiology? I’m still not one hundred percent sure wich is the best for me and I really belive one hundred percent is too much, so I’ll pick one and hope it works for me.

This week is gonna be awesome, I can feel it. Hope I still think so in two or three days!

Have a great week. Happy “dia dos namorados” for those who doesn’t celebrate it in February 🙂

Carpe diem, how annoying is carpe diem? How are you supposed to plan a life, a career, a family, if you’re always carpe-ing the diem?If we all ceased every moment of every day, there wouldn’t be doctors who would sit through med school. We’d all be too busy living in the now. Whatever that means.
I’ll admit the Romans had a point. You gotta live life and living means that every morning when you wake up you have two choices. Between ceasing what life offers in moment and forging ahead no matter the weather or closing the curtains and shutting out the day.
— Meredith Grey

We've got the dreamers disease

2 comentários sobre “Carpe-ing the f*cking diem

Deixe um comentário

