Unsent letters – Another one bites the dust

Unsent

Dear W, the first time I felt in love in adulthood it was with you.

Few weeks ago I heard you’re dating an old friend of mine.

I felt happy for you both. Hope he manages your tumultuous agenda.

When we were together my priority was neuroanatomy.

Yours were a promotion that never came.

I was just a kid then. Maybe I’m still one. But you’re not getting any younger.

The age/money gap sealed our destiny.

 

Dear E, I never really loved you.

I hated the way you showed me to your friends as a trophy.

Think I just loved the feeling of having someone to call my own. 

I’ll never understand how I managed to spend so much time with you.

I learned from you that money won’t make me a better person.

‘Coz you were so rich and yet so shallow.

Thank you for introducing me to Twix and Moulin Rouge.

 

Dear D, you were my forbidden fruit.

The five thousand miles between us didn’t look like a problem back then.

I’d quit my world for you. I’d try to stop the earth for you. 

You were only emotionally available when I was far away.

I never felt so lonely as I did when we were finally on the same room.

No hard feelings. Now I know I am not just fine, I am great.

Hope all your dreams have come true by now.

I miss your cat, he licked me like no one else ever did.

 

Dear J, you rocked my world.

At the end we learned that somethings within us can never be unleashed.

But before that I felt safe and complete when you held me in your arms.

Loved the way you were always there for me.

We grew, we saw the world and then followed different ways.

We lost a son, we cried, we were uncomfortable.

Hope someday you will forgive me for being such a badass. I’ve already forgiven you. 

You will always live in a special place in my heart.

 

Dear E, we didn’t have much time.

You showed me that life goes on even if we don’t want it too.

You’re one of the kindest human beings I’ll ever known.

And also the most complicated one.

Unfortunately I was lost and you tried to rule my life for me.

You knew I was untamed.

I appreciate the tenderness and the support you once gave me.

Your artistic spirit inspired me but, truth be told, we were never lovers.

I am not sure if  I could have loved you in a different situation.

Dear A, when we where together the world seemed small

We were hot, but even the sun one day will get colder and then explode.

You really cared about my pleasure, but not my dreams

I couldn’t understand where you were going and I didn’t want to follow you

I do hope we meet in future, I want it so bad to see you sparkling.

You deserve no more than greatness.

If you could see me now you’d be proud.

Dear R, you pushed me to my limits!

And I salute you for you perseverance in face of my stubbornness.

Usually I don’t test my limits ‘coz I don’t want to remember I’m not almighty.

I am truly thankful for all the laughs we shared,

for all the irony only we, together, could spread in the world. 

You’re the one I’ll miss the much because I have loved you for what you were. 

We learned passion can undo the best of us and lead to tragedy…

Try always to care about others as you think you do. 

I’ve never painted myself into something better than I was

and you never seemed to fell my brightest colors. 

 

Inspired by the goddess’ Alanis Morissette Unsent song, from the unique Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie Album.

Deixe um comentário

